Fame at last (for five minutes)! Recognition for my design talents . . .

I’ve always been c*** at drawing and design. So imagine my surprise when my semi-spoof design for the flag for a new ‘United Kingdom of England, Wales and N. Ireland’ (which I came up with in May last year following the SNP’s victory in the Scottish-parliamentary election) was included in a blog by Dan Hannan MEP in yesterday’s Telegraph.

I should add that Hannan dismissed my design as “not quite the same, is it?”, which I suppose I should take as a nationalist badge of honour!

I would also like to put on record that I don’t believe the identity of the new state of which England will be a part after Scottish independence would or should automatically be the United Kingdom of England, Wales and Northern Ireland. And, as a matter of fact, I’ve come up with an alternative Union Jack design (which I should perhaps dub the ‘Union Black’, since it has a black background instead of the present blue) incorporating the flags of Saints David and Piran (Cornwall), which I may inflict upon a suspecting world at some future juncture.

Well, at least it got the Unionists rattled!

English parliament

Leave a Reply

